THUNDERCATS SCREENING REPORT

July 2, 2011

Tamra and I went to a screening of the new Thundercats show, a one hour “movie” that will launch the new series for Cartoon Network. Why? Because years ago, when I lived in New York, my day job was designing cartoon characters for Rankin/Bass and their new series, Thundercats.
I designed hundreds of characters (apart from the leads, which were already created by the time I was hired) as well as weapons, vehicles, plants and animals of “Third Earth.”

And not too long ago I was delighted to get the call that I would be voicing several of the guest characters for the new series. So, I got to revisit my old show!

The really great news is that having now seen the all-new Thundercats show, I can heartily, HEARTILY endorse it. It is visually exciting, beautifully produced, well-performed, and actually a very interesting story that keeps one guessing. Far better than what I anticipated, and really quite entertaining and exciting.

I saw it in a screening room at Warner Brothers last week, and the quality of the show, even when bumped up to a big screen, was comparable to a movie. So, on a standard TV screen, it’s going to be very rich and impressive.

The voice acting is all top notch, including Will Friedle as Lion-O, Clancy Brown as General Gruene, Larry Kenney (the original Lion-O) as Claudus, and the amazing Corey Burton as Jaga.

My own performances will appear in later episodes.  This hour-long premiere introduces the main characters and provides the backstory.

Andrea Romano directed the actors very ably, and the result is pure gold.

I think the fans will LOVE the new Thundercats, and I’m very proud to be a part of it.

The series begins with the hour-long special premiere event on Friday, July 29th at 8 p.m. (Tivo it, and come watch JIMPRESSIONS at The Acting Center, happening at the same time!)

Thundercats will then air regularly on Cartoon Network on Friday nights at 8:30 p.m. beginning August 5.


Me and Dan Norton, the man behind the new, anime look of the show and the champion behind the rebirth of the series.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://meskimen.wordpress.com/2011/07/02/thundercats-screening-report/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad for the opportunity that you had to revisit the Thundercats series, this time as an actor.

    I am familiar with Clancy Brown who voiced Lex Luthor in the Justice League series and Corey Burton who also voiced Brainiac and a host of other parts in the same series. I enjoyed both of their characterizations and glad to know you are in good company.

    I’ll hope to see your fine performances throughout the series. Looking forward to each of your future successes!

  2. Nicer words couldn’t have been spoken by any nicer of a guy! Thanks for the shout out man. You’re a class act buddy!

    Dan


Leave a Reply

