FINDING JASPER ROSE

Last week, when I wrote about the inspiration for my own Professor Knestor Jackdaws, my old teacher from UCSC Jasper Rose, I casually requested that if anyone knew how to locate him to please pass any information along to me.
Within hours, several friends had contacted me and I not only had a fairly recent photo of him, painting beside the canals at Bath, near Somerset, England, but also his purported mailing address.
I can tell you the speed of such information, let alone the prospect of somehow coming back into contact with a man who has had such an influence over my life, an influence that continues to increase, was enough to make me sort of float around in a dreamily pleasant state all day.
My next goal is to actually visit him in England this summer and express personally my deep gratitude and admiration. I think if I can pull it off, it will be a wonderful chapter in my life, at least, although it might not provide much more than a patient smile from the target of my affection.
In any case, thanks for the help in locating an old friend; somehow just knowing he is still out and about makes me very content.

 

Jasper Rose in 1974.

Published in: on February 18, 2011 at 8:26 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://meskimen.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/finding-jasper-rose/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for post…I did see the photo of Jasper in Bath. He also had a profound influence on me at UCSC 1981-89. I remember dinners at his house and the men would go into the library in their charming house and drink Port into the wee hours by the fire…I still quote him every now and then…his word linger like that fine dark port.

  2. Jasper was a regular visitor to the Alan Chadwick Garden at UCSC. That was a quite a cultural experience to listen to those two highly articulate gentlemen conversing and verbally sparing. A little bit of that flavor is captured in the articles published about Alan Chadwick at the following website:

    Alan Chadwick, a Gardener of Souls

    • Thanks very much for the link.


Leave a Reply

